SONGS

home

Index | Unseen songs | Unfinished songs | Covers | Complete list of songs | Songs by record | Translations


 

TITLE. LYRICS

Concert version

Dead souls

Someone take these dreams away
That point me to another day
A duel of personalities
That stretch all true realities

That keep calling me
Keep on calling me
They keep calling me

Where figures from the past stand tall
And mocking voices ring the halls
Imperialistic house of prayer
Conquistadors who took their share

That keep calling me
Keep on calling me
They keep calling me

Another day, another time
The dreams can't stop or rectify
We're born into a living scene
It draws me in, keeps calling me

Keeps calling me
Calling me


 

ALTERNATE LYRICS

Earlier studio version | Later studio version


 

DETAILS

Line-up: Ian Curtis | Peter Hook | Stephen Morris | Bernard Sumner


 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Title for this song came from a book written in 1842 by N.V. Gogol, which Ian Curtis read


 

LIVE RECORDINGS. NOTES

Studio recording

Date: Wednesday 11 July 1979
Venue: Roots Club Leeds (UK)
Duration: 4.21

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 13 July 1979
Venue: Russel Club Manchester (UK)
Duration: 4.00

Availability on record: Heart And Soul

Date: Friday 27 July 1979
Venue: Imperial Hotel Blackpool (UK)
Duration: 3.56

Availability on record:

Date: Thursday 2 August 1979
Venue: Prince of Wales Conference Centre London (Tottenham) (UK)
Duration: 4.17

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 11 August 1979 (evening)
Venue: Eric's Liverpool (UK)
Duration: 3.49

Availability on record:

Date: Monday 27 August 1979
Venue: Rock & Music Festival Leigh (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 8 September 1979
Venue: Queens Hall (Futurama) Leeds (UK)
Duration: 4.36

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 28 September 1979
Venue: Russel Club Manchester (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 27 October 1979
Venue: Apollo Theatre Manchester (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:
Availability on video: Here Are The Young Men

Date: Monday 5 November 1979 (soundcheck)
Venue: Pavilion Hemel Hempstead (UK)
Duration: 4.19

Availability on record:

Date: Monday 5 November 1979 (concert)
Venue: Pavilion Hemel Hempstead (UK)
Duration: 5.15

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 10 November 1979
Venue: Rainbow Theatre London (Finsbury Park) (UK)
Duration: 4.52

Availability on record:

Date: Thursday 17 January 1980
Venue: Plan K Brussels (Belgium)
Duration: 4.50

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 18 January 1980
Venue: Effenaar Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Duration: 3.37

Availability on record: Fractured Box | Les Bains Douches 18 December 1979 | Refractured Box One

Date: Monday 21 January 1980
Venue: Kant Kino Berlin (Germany)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 8 February 1980
Venue: University College Union London (Bloomsbury) (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Wednesday 2 April 1980
Venue: Moonlight Club London (West Hampstead) (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 4 April 1980
Venue: Rainbow Theatre London (Finsbury Park) (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 19 April 1980
Venue: Ajanta Theatre Derby (UK)
Duration: 5.32

Availability on record: