SONGS

home

Index | Unseen songs | Unfinished songs | Covers | Complete list of songs | Songs by record | Translations


 

TITLE. LYRICS

Concert version

Shadowplay

To the centre of the city where all roads meet, waiting for you
To the depths of the ocean where all hopes sank, searching for you
Moving through the silence without motion,
waiting for you
In a room with a window in the corner, I found truth

In the shadowplay, acting out your own death, knowing no more
As the assassins all grouped in four lines dancing on the floor
And with cold steel, odour on their bodies,
made a move to connect
But I could only stare in disbelief as the crowds all left

I did everything, everything I wanted to
I let them use you for their own ends
To the centre of the city in the night,
waiting for you


 

ALTERNATE LYRICS

Earlier studio version | Later studio version | TV version


 

DETAILS

Line-up: Ian Curtis | Peter Hook | Stephen Morris | Bernard Sumner


 

LIVE RECORDINGS. NOTES

Earlier studio recording | Later studio recording | TV recording

Date: Monday 16 October 1978
Venue: Band on the Wall Manchester (UK)
Duration: 3.37

Availability on record:

Date: Wednesday 14 March 1979
Venue: Bowdon Vale Youth Club Altrincham (UK)
Duration: 3.32

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 16 June 1979
Venue: Odeon Canterbury (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 23 June 1979
Venue: Free Trade Hall Manchester (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Wednesday 11 July 1979
Venue: Roots Club Leeds (UK)
Duration: 3.21

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 13 July 1979
Venue: Russel Club Manchester (UK)
Duration: 3.27

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 27 July 1979
Venue: Imperial Hotel Blackpool (UK)
Duration: 3.22

Availability on record:

Date: Thursday 2 August 1979
Venue: Prince of Wales Conference Centre London (Tottenham) (UK)
Duration: 3.25

Availability on record:

Date: Wednesday 8 August 1979
Venue: Romulus Club Birmingham (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 11 August 1979 (afternoon)
Venue: Eric's Liverpool (UK)
Duration: 3.32

Availability on record:

Date: Monday 27 August 1979
Venue: Rock & Music Festival Leigh (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 31 August 1979
Venue: Electric Ballroom London (Camden) (UK)
Duration: 3.32

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 8 September 1979
Venue: Queens Hall (Futurama) Leeds (UK)
Duration: 3.24

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 22 September 1979
Venue: Nashville Rooms London (Earls Court) (UK)
Duration: 3.41

Availability on record:

Date: Tuesday 2 October 1979
Venue: Mountford Hall (University) Liverpool (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Wednesday 3 October 1979
Venue: University Leeds (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Thursday 4 October 1979
Venue: City Hall Newcastle upon Tyne (UK)
Duration: 3.41

Availability on record:

Date: Saturday 6 October 1979
Venue: Odeon Edinburgh (Scotland) (UK)
Duration: 3.24
Availability on record:

Date: Tuesday 16 October 1979
Venue: Plan K Brussels (Belgium)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 26 October 1979
Venue: Electric Ballroom London (Camden) (UK)
Duration: 3.46

Availability on record:

Date: Sunday 27 October 1979
Venue: Apollo Theatre Manchester (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:
Availability on video: Here Are The Young Men

Date: Sunday 28 October 1979
Venue: Apollo Theatre Manchester (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 9 November 1979
Venue: Rainbow Theatre London (Finsbury Park) (UK)
Duration: 3.58

Availability on record:

Date: Tuesday 18 December 1979
Venue: Bains-Douches Paris (France)
Duration: 3.46

Availability on record: Fractured Box | Les Bains Douches 18 December 1979 | Refractured Box One

Date: Friday 11 January 1980
Venue: Paradiso Amsterdam (Netherlands)
Duration: 3.26

Availability on record:

Date: Tuesday 15 January 1980
Venue: Basement Cologne (Germany)
Duration: 3.45

Availability on record:

Date: Thursday 17 January 1980
Venue: Plan K Brussels (Belgium)
Duration: 3.27

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 18 January 1980
Venue: Effenaar Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Duration: 3.30

Availability on record:

Date: Thursday 28 February 1980
Venue: Warehouse Preston (UK)
Duration: 3.39

Availability on record:
Fractured Box | Preston 28 February 1980 | Refractured Box One

Date: Friday 4 April 1980
Venue: Rainbow Theatre London (Finsbury Park) (UK)
Duration: unknown

Availability on record:

Date: Friday 2 May 1980
Venue: High Hall (University) Birmingham (UK)
Duration: 3.54

Availability on record:
Still